Skip to content

Dr. Melchert (on pediatricians)

April 11, 2011

Today was a big day for Miss P: she had a check-up.  It was a big day for the twins: Miss P got three shots.

Taking a baby to a well-child visit always feels a bit like taking a pumpkin to the fair.  You’ve been fattening them up for the big weigh-in.  If they’ve gained weight I have the urge to stick a blue ribbon on that big bald head.

I really look forward to these visits with the pediatrician.  How exhilarating to find someone who takes such a keen interest in details about the children that I myself find so fascinating.  Details such as the frequency of their poops and spit-ups?  How does she navigate the stairs? What does she eat for meals and snacks? Can she suck from a straw or just a sippy cup?  I find myself falling in love with Dr. Melchert a little bit as he asks these probing questions. And the way he nods and smiles as if this is the first baby he has ever seen who has rolled over!

Does every mother find herself infatuated with the pediatrician or is it just me?  I remember feeling the same way about the obstetrician as we together analyzed the details of my pregnancy.  It was a dark day indeed when she cut me loose, no longer wanting to see me weekly as the baby had now been born.

Lest you get the wrong idea about me and Dr. Melchert, he and his partner are the happy fathers of twin boys just a few months younger Charlie and Elisabeth.  So, we’ve compared notes along the way…everything from strollers to sleeping schedules.  A few times we’ve teared up together discussing the joys of parenthood.

Not wanting anything to distract me from my time with Dr. Melchert, I took Charlie and Elisabeth to look at the childcare room (available to siblings of patients at the clinic).  Not surprisingly they preferred to come along and watch Miss P get her immunizations. The twins are facinated with shots.  Over and over and over they have watched Mr. Rogers get a shot in his arm in their favorite episode “Brave and Strong”.  Their favorite part is the actual injection.  (My favorite part is his exclamation of surprise and delight upon discovering that each patient gets a brand new, clean needle.)

I told the twins that they must be absolutely silent while I talk with the Dr., and if they interrupt at all they will be taken straight to childcare.  They solemnly vowed they would not interrupt.  And technically they kept their word. I should’ve been more specific.  I just tried to ignore them wrestling silently on the floor and tried to focus on Dr. Melchert.  I wonder if I was gazing at him with the unabashed devotion seen on the twins faces as he walked into the room (below):

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    April 11, 2011 11:11 pm

    I love this photo of Patience. If the wires could be edited out of the background it would make a good 1 year portrait.

  2. Lisa permalink
    April 12, 2011 2:29 am

    you know i love this!!

  3. April 13, 2011 8:36 am

    You are amazing. I have NEVER taken a picture of my children at the doctor. Actually, I should have videoed the last visit as the older 4 climbed around, under, and through the exam table and the medical student tried to focus on looking in Sebastian’s throat and getting the information he needed.

Leave a Reply

