Skip to content

Adventures in Air (on flying with children)

April 6, 2011

Well, we made it home in one piece.  The return trip was not without difficulties.  Our first flight, Birmingham to Chicago, was delayed an hour and a half.  Since we had arrived with time to spare, this meant we were waiting at the gate for two and a half hours.  Here we are, waiting at the gate for TWO AND A HALF HOURS:

Oh, wait, that’s not me.  That’s their new friend, Rhonda Lambert.  They like Rhonda better than me because she let them do bowling on her iPhone.  My phone doesn’t bowl, it just phones. Rhonda Lambert’s iPhone wasn’t our only amusement.  Elisabeth enjoyed a Marilyn Monroe moment with one of the air vents.

By the end of the long wait, they were literally climbing the walls.  Here they are CLIMBING THE WALLS:

By the time we boarded I’d had enough of them, so I let the rif-raff sit together:

And I sat with her instead:

She was a lovely seatmate.  It was a no-brainer.

By far the hardest thing for me about flying with three peppers is boarding.  Especially when flying Southwest.  They don’t let families with children board first!  They do let me board first however, because every single time I ask for a Blue pre-boarding tag usually reserved for people with severe medical problems such as quadraplegia. I just say confidently, “Could I please have a medical pass to pre-board.” If there is any hesitation at all on the part of the gate agent I just nod at the children and say (with a little wink), “We need to sit right by the bathroom.” Twice under pressure I have had to add, “They could potentially get diarrhea.” Once the gate agent responded with, “Next time just say they have peanut allergies. Peanut allergies always get to preboard.”

Boarding is harder when the plane contains passengers who have stayed on from a previous flight because Charlie likes to stop and make conversation on his way up the aisle.

Charlie to the first lady: “What are you doing?”

Lady: “I’m typing on my laptop.  What are you doing?”

Charlie: “I’m going to Minneapolis.”

Charlie to the second lady: “Which house do you live in?”

Second Lady: “Well, I live in Birmingham.”

Charlie turning to me and yelling: “Hey mom, is that Nini?”

I must mention that the second lady was at least 82 and had snow white hair.  Sorry Nini.

On our second flight, the plane was half empty so I sat the twins on one row with a seat between them, and Miss P across the aisle by me.  A very small lady passed many empty seats and settled herself between the twins.  I tried explaining to her that it might be better if she sat in one of the fifty seats still empty so that I could reach Charlie if needed but apparently she didn’t speak English.  I tried to explain in other languages, but I don’t speak other languages.  The twins smiled up at her, delighted with their new friend who sat with her large rolling suitcase perched on her lap ready for take-off.  I gave up and stowed her suitcase. It wasn’t long before the fruit basket turnover started.  Charlie ended up in the infant seat.  The flight attendant reminded me to buckle him in securely.  She didn’t even ask why an almost three year old was folded up like a pretzel in an infant seat.  Here he is, enjoying the ride:

We all enjoyed the ride.  Dan picked us up in Big Red, fresh from the shop.   I took this picture as we pulled away from the airport.  Note a piece of our car sticking out of the trashcan.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacy permalink
    April 6, 2011 3:12 am

    Welcome back Lucy and the three little peppers, I missed you all, but reading your blog helped me make it through. See you on Friday! 🙂

  2. Beth S permalink
    April 6, 2011 3:26 am

    You are hilarious. I am sitting here laughing out loud and also in awe at your bravery in traveling solo with all three. Kudos!

  3. Brenda permalink
    April 6, 2011 11:54 am

    BY FAR, this is the funniest thing you have ever posted.

  4. April 6, 2011 12:19 pm

    You have made, “Come Fly With Me,” a questionable invite, but not without an hilarious “UP” side.
    Carrying a backpack in the Barcelona/Lyon airports with a month’s worth of necessities is an easy task, compared to the joyful, humorous trip in this last post!

    So glad you made it home. Can you see daylight through the floor of the car yet? That is usually the ticket for a “final trip!”

  5. George permalink
    April 7, 2011 3:06 am

    Great post!

  6. Carl permalink
    April 9, 2011 6:09 pm

    Very funny, Lucy

  7. Lakeya Scott permalink
    April 16, 2011 6:41 pm

    I enjoyed you and your three peppers, they are beautiful kids I can’t wait till my husband and I start our family!!!!

Leave a Reply

