Skip to content

Hero

March 11, 2011

Having not yet been introduced to lesser heroes, Charlie and Elisabeth talk about Jesus all the time.

Last night I found the twins playing a rousing game of “Jesus”:

Elisabeth (lying prostrate on the floor): I am dying…dyyyiiiing.

Charlie: (Leaping naked off of the couch – flying through the air): I will save you, Elisabeth. Then I will give you a hug.

This went on for several rounds of “Jesus” until Elisabeth refused to be healed.

“Rise.” Charlie instructed her.  When she didn’t respond.  He got louder.  “RISE.  RIIIISE!” He was very upset. We had to end that game.

But last night as I was tucking Charlie into bed, he smile and whispered, “Lazarus, come forth!”

Lily Benson (who loves clothes as much as the twins love to be unclothed) also loves Jesus.  She takes seriously our call to imitate Christ in all things…even dress. Yesterday, out of the blue, she exclaimed to Kettie: “Mommy, I just love that outfit Jesus wore to Bethlehem.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 11:00 pm

    I laughed out loud at Lazarus come forth and Jesus’s outfit to Bethlehem.

  2. Tammia Alexander permalink
    March 12, 2011 6:35 am

    LOL @ Charlie getting upset because of Elisabeth not wanting to be healed, and @ Jesus’s outfit to Bethlehem.

  3. Megan permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:11 pm

    I believe that the clothing of Jesus has long been a source of fascination for children. My mother commented in my baby book (30 years ago) about the night before bed when I asked her “Why does Jesus wear a dress?” with the all important follow-up question of, “How many does he have?”

Leave a Reply

