Skip to content

Career Change (on motherhood)

March 10, 2011

Last week I watched an interview with Rahnna Reiko Rizzuto, author of Hiroshima in the Morning.  It is an account of her decision to leave her husband and her children because she found them a bit stifling.  I might have suggested that she ditch her name instead of her family, but that is beside the point.  Her book has been nominated for a national book award.

In stark contrast to Rahnna Reiko Rizzuto’s low view of motherhood, the editor of First Things responds to Erica Jong (noted feminist) with the following comment:

“Erica Jong just can’t understand it.  More than thirty years after she disabused women of their foolish belief in marital fidelity with her groundbreaking Fear of Flying, women have created a new prison for themselves: motherhood…(according to Jong) children are impediments that ‘keep mothers and fathers out of the political process…if you are busy raising children…you don’t have much time to question and change the world that you and your children inhabit.’ Excluding, of course, those who changed the world through their children.  Mary, Ruth, St. Monica, and Stanley Ann Dunham come to mind.”

Thank you, new editor of first things, whose name I can’t remember.

On that note, with much trepidation I recently told my supervisor I  am stepping away from my position with his agency, Community Psychology of Mn.  He has invested so much time over the past six years helping me get my career going. I needn’t have worried.  His response was so kind.  “Don’t see this as the end,” he said, “See this as putting your career in low gear for a while.”

I will now be a full time psychoanalyst of my own strange little peppers. It’s my pleasure.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    March 11, 2011 2:33 am

    Oh Lucy, how I have enjoyed reading through your blog…and I loved your comments about your career change to full-time with your peppers…I sure wish we all lived closer…or I should say…I wish I lived by you all there in MN…so I could be a part of some of these great conversations and memories with your kiddos!

  2. George permalink
    March 11, 2011 3:04 am

    Your blog rocks.

  3. Brenda permalink
    March 11, 2011 11:36 am

    I’m praying for you in this life change. There is no greater mark you can make on the world than to bring up your children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. It changes you, and them, and the world. And God is honored by it.

    These years with them are precious. Treasure every day. And keep writing the blog so we can treasure the moments with you.

  4. Melanie Fisher permalink
    March 14, 2011 2:08 pm

    Raising your kids is the best thing in the world. I look at mine that are now praparing to finish thier freshman and senior years of high school and am so thankful that I have been able to be home with them in their crucial growing up years. HAving conversations with them regarding their personal relationships with Christ I have been so encouraged that the influence of their father and me on a daily basis in everyday life has had such an impact on decisons they have had to make. I enjoy watching your young ones grow and am so thankful that they have such loving parents to guide them in their own walk with Christ.

Leave a Reply

