Skip to content

That phone call everyone dreads

March 6, 2011

On the way to play group yesterday I recieved an unfortunate phone call from my friend Sarah, who happened to pull up behind me at a red light.

Me: “Hello?”

Sarah: “Um, There’s something big falling off of  your car.”

That is not what you want to hear en route.  My first thought: “Thank goodness I didn’t see it at home…I’d much rather be broken down at playgroup than trapped at our house!” Sarah followed us the rest of the way, assuring me that sparks were not flying.  I don’t know the technical name for the falling off part.  Upon examination, I would describe it as “the underbelly”. 

 A call to Dan confirmed that it was the part he recently stuck back on (see old post: “A Quick Word of Praise”).  If you read “a Word about our Car” you know that we really really love our car. But Charlie has taken to circling once before and asking “Is the bumper still on?”.

I was hoping for an excuse to stay at Cari’s house and not have to clean up lunch in my own kitchen, but we followed Dan’s instructions and drove her on home. On the way home Charlie commented: “We might get a van, ya’ll”.  Is a van in our future sooner rather than later?

To be continued….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    March 6, 2011 2:37 am

    So—-the day before Dan was born I drove our old Plymouth Duster to the salvage yard in Willmar where old dying cars go to be picked apart for parts. Phil followed behind so we could go to the hospital, which was a good idea, since I could see daylight through the floor of the car, and the week before something had fallen off of the bottom somewhere, resulting in the immediate loss of heat.
    Do you think this has any connection to Dan’s tendency to hold on, put back together and tape up?
    Keep a circlin’ Charlie…the Volvo is a much sterner auto than a Duster, to be sure.

  2. Brenda permalink
    March 6, 2011 11:39 am

    As I said, I think I know where you can get a van . . . Just sayin’.

    Not sure any other vehicle is going to make for such funny stories, though.

  3. March 6, 2011 2:02 pm

    “We might get a van , Yall is the cutest thing I’ve ever heard.

Leave a Reply

