Skip to content

I have buttons!

March 6, 2011

I would like to point out the buttons Dan has painstakingly programmed across the top of this blog.  Adding buttons to the blog was much more complicated than I thought it would be when I asked him if I could have buttons.  Most of the great ideas I propose to Dan end up being quite a bit more complicated than I anticipate (such as the diarrhea-ring pitbulls – see old post “Hobbies”) but Dan tolerates my ideas so graciously.  So, the four buttons across the top of the blog are 4 areas in which I could really use some help.

1. “Let’s Get Organized” because I’m not.  This one is for a series of posts on home organization for dummies.  Kettie is the organizer and I am the dummy.  If  she can help me, then there is hope for anybody.  Kettie, being something of an organizational savant has many tips to share that I’m hoping will change my life.

2. “What’s Cookin?'”.  I get into such cooking ruts, rotating the same few recipes over and over.  Since, I have now declared cooking my hobby, it is time to break out of my ruts.  Being something of an extrovert (to put it mildly) everything I do, including cooking, is more fun for me when I have someone to share it with.  So, Everyday Ethnic Eats is my little experiment at cooking and sharing recipes via the blog.  Eat Your Veggies will be a series of posts by Sarah (with photos by Johnny Hoffner) on Vegetarian Entrees the whole family will enjoy.  And 5 Ingredients or Less is open to submissions.  We all need easy recipes to fall back on, so please please email me with some ideas.

3. “Prayers for Families” is just what is sounds like.  I am not faithful in prayer.  And if being faithful is a matter of me trying harder then I’m definitely in trouble! But, “He gives what he commands,” (St. Augustine). So, there is hope for me, although I often feel like Charlie when he studies and studies his picture books and then bursts into tears crying, “I don’t know the words”.  I feel so tired and lost when I try to pray.  I need the words. So these are words I can print out and turn to for help with the most important and most neglected part of my parenting. Most of these are from Betsy.

4. Book Review.  Because I’m always looking for a book to read.

Cari graciously offered to contribute a few posts on bookkeeping.  I didn’t want to hurt her feelings, but I’m not sure a whole category on book-keeping would be very popular.  So, to avoid the awkwardness of telling her in person, I will just announce it here:

CARI, I DON’T THINK PEOPLE WANT TO READ ABOUT BOOKKEEPING.

But we love you very much.

And below, a few pics of Elisabeth (who loves buttons!):

One Comment leave one →
  1. Papaw permalink
    March 6, 2011 8:44 pm

    I can’t wait for the bookkeeping tips!

Leave a Reply

