Skip to content

Introducing: Everyday Ethnic Eats

March 4, 2011

I decided this year that since I have to cook supper every night anyway, I will call it my hobby (perhaps to improve my cooking-supper mood and so that I will have something to say if asked about my hobbies). I set a goal of trying one challenging recipe each week.  This lasted one week.  I started with a recipe for Indian Lamb Meatballs over rice with Curried Cauliflower.  The recipe said, “Cook the rice for twenty minutes.  While the rice is cooking, assemble the meatballs and bake in the oven.”  I started assembling my lamballs.  TWO HOURS later they were just about ready to pop into the oven.  I was dishevelled, as was the kitchen (to put it delicately).  I love the idea of making ethnic food (Indian, Thai, Middle Eastern, Chinese, Italian…) But am easily deterred by exotic and expensive ingredients in a recipe.  I would love to be adventurous in the kitchen but I simply cannot cook from 2:00 to 6:00 as I did the night of the glorious lamballs. So, I began changing recipes and making easy substitutions to create Everyday Ethnic Eats. I will begin with my favorite: I call it “Chicken Slavaki” (Chicken Souvlaki for Dummies).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Suz permalink
    March 5, 2011 4:43 am

    Lucy! What a great idea! Whenever I’ve tried to get creative and try ethnic recipes it turns into.. FIFTY DOLLARS IN EXOTIC INGREDIENTS later!!!! As my mother would say, you should write a book of them! Love, Suz

  2. Bumpa permalink
    March 5, 2011 3:14 pm

    Lucy, you are like a professional blogger! How many hits?

    Bumpa

Leave a Reply

