Skip to content

Top Ten

March 3, 2011

Ten questions I’ve been asked about the twins (and my stock answers):

10. “How far apart in age are they?” (one minute)

9.  Asked by a clerk in a store (before we had Mary P.), “Are they triplets?” (No, just twins.)

8.  “Are they identical?” (We get this one all the time, and half the people argue vehemently that they in fact are identical when I say no.)

7.  “Were they spontaneous?” (No, a little stilted.)

6. “Are they natural?” (No, they’re synthetic.)

5. “Are they two sets of twins?” (No, just one set of twins and a baby…see old post “Killing Time“)

4. “Are they paternal?” (Well, yes and no I guess.)

3. “Are they nocturnal?” (Yes, I’m sorry to say.)

2. “What did you do to get them?” (Just how much detail do you want?)

And the most common question:

1. “Do twins run in your family?” (They do now!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooke permalink
    March 3, 2011 1:56 am

    Ha, this is great, your entire blog is so entertaining! Aren’t people great! You know Julia and I are together often and our daughters are 3 months apart. Everyone would ask if they were twins…..the funny part was that my daughter Evie was gigantic and Julia’s Mattie has always been a teeny tiny little thing….so we started to say yes but we only feed one :)!

    Gald you are doing well, hope to see you all soon.

  2. Beth S permalink
    March 3, 2011 2:14 am

    Just finished catching up on your blog. You leave me in stitches!
    My mom got a lot of those twin questions with my younger brother and sister. The “identical” question bugged the snot out of me when I was younger. Can’t you see they are not the same sex?

  3. Lisa C permalink
    March 3, 2011 5:02 am

    I have b/g twins too and was talking with another b/g twin mom. Loved her response to the “Are they identical?” question. She says, “Nope, one’s plain and the other has nuts.”

  4. March 3, 2011 8:49 am

    I love it when complete strangers ask me if I’m nursing both babies. Like it’s any of their business. Back off, Old Lady at Lund’s!

  5. Brenda permalink
    March 3, 2011 11:38 am

    My grandmother Childs had sisters who were twins–Molly and Mattie. I believe there was a set of twins on my grandfather’s side, too.

  6. Mary Olson permalink
    March 3, 2011 2:55 pm

    To wake up in the a.m. in”where ever in the world ” we are, and to read a new post on your blog is truly a wonderful way to start the day (only topped by being there!). Watching you with your children I have only one question, “What can’t she do?”

  7. March 3, 2011 8:52 pm

    Lucy, it is really a treat to see your posts! You crack me up! I LOVE the stranger questions. And your responses are the BEST! I’m always caught off guard when I get the ridiculous questions, and don’t have the quick come-backs. My best stranger question so far is: “Are you the daycare lady?” Plus, it’s fun to see Charlie in his new glasses! What happened to the other ones?? I have to lecture Gabriel every day about how to properly take off and put on glasses, and where is appropriate to set them.

  8. Erica permalink
    March 4, 2011 12:57 pm

    So funny! I miss spending time with your family!!

Leave a Reply

