Skip to content

Our Favorite Soup

March 2, 2011

Ginger Chicken Soup is my favorite soup because it’s easy and fresh and gives me just enough  room to be creative (choose your own vegetables) without being risky.  I usually add mushrooms, green onions, sometimes big chunks of tomato or green bell pepper.  I like to top it with avocado.

Ginger Chicken Soup (adapted from Joy of Cooking Thai Coconut Soup)

Ingredients:

2 cups Chix broth

2 cups Coconut Milk

1 Tblsp Fresh Ginger (peeled and chopped fine)

4 Boneless Skinless Chix breast chopped

2 Jalapeno peppers (seeded and chopped)

3 Tblsp Soy sauce

1 Lime (juice)

1 Bunch Cilantro (chopped)

(Vegetables of Choice)

Directions:

Combine Coconut Milk, Chix broth, Ginger, and soy sauce and bring to a simmer.  Add Chix and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium and simmer 10 minutes (simmer just below a froth).  Add Lime juice, jalapeno peppers and vegetables.  Simmer on low 20 minutes. Garnish with cilantro. Serve with Jasmine rice.

Below: Elisabeth making Ginger Chicken Soup.  Elisbaeth loves to help. She wants to help me with everything: chopping, stirring, setting the table, loading the dishwasher, etc.  Everything I ask her to do she responds with, “Sure!”  Usually followed by, “I’m sorry. That’s okay. Thank you.” (Thrown in for good measure?)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terra permalink
    March 3, 2011 10:00 pm

    I’ll vouch for this soup. Delicious.
    Lucy, you’re right, reading blog is like a chat with a friend in the middle of a workday. I don’t know why held out. Let the hours of distraction begin.

  2. September 23, 2011 11:05 pm

    Oooh… this sounds yummy. And I should look through my Joy of Cooking more! Hi Lucy, I used to work with Dan at BHP. I just found a link to your blog through his FB post. Wonderful!
    Sooo, is this served *with* jasmine rice or *over* jasmine rice? Because that would be delicious! Also, do you really buy like the ten pound bag? We go through a lot of jasmine rice, but that bag looks intimidating.
    Thanks for the chuckles, your writing is delightful (as are your children!)!

Leave a Reply

