Skip to content

Jamberry Chicken

February 23, 2011

To stave off winter boredom, I have undertaken a few new hobbies.

1. Fostering large pitbull puppies with diarrhea. This hobby did not go well.  You can see Hans and Blinka in this photo.  Although the children were initially excited to see these puppies that appeared in our house one night while they slept, they refused to enter the kitchen where the puppies were having their constant diarrhea.  This posed a mealtime challenge.  Dan returned the pups after they pooped in his shoe.  

2. Knitting.  I have not knitted in years, but after visiting a local knit shop, Stephen B’s Yarn Garage, I was inspired to undertake an elegant t-shirt cowel.  I do not know what a cowel is, really, or how to spell it, but it looked so nice on Stephen B.  This has gone slightly better than the pit-bulls.  Although I have spent most of my time untangelling my yarn ball and little time knitting.

3. And the winner is…BULB GARDEN! Even we could not fail at this new hobby: watching bulbs grow.  The children have dilligently watered our little garden and Charlie has kept it meticulously pruned with his safety scissors.

And then of course there’s my ongoing hobby: cooking supper.  I would like to share one of my favorite recipes for Cranberry Chicken (or Jamberry Chicken as we call it).  So easy a two year old could make it (see photo).

Jamberry Chicken

4 to 6 boneless, skinless chix breasts

top with one can of whole cranberries (or sauce)

sprinkle one package of onion soup mix

a few shakes of garlic salt and pepper

lots of squirts of french dressing

Bake 350 for 1 hour.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 8:44 pm

    Lucy you are hilarious! Nice try with the puppies. And good for you with the knitting. My favorite are the pictures of the twins helping make dinner. I should let my kids do more of the work like that! 🙂

  2. Mary Olson permalink
    February 24, 2011 5:36 pm

    Nummy-nummy-nummy!

  3. Shanna Lehn permalink
    February 24, 2011 11:12 pm

    Lucy- That is one of my favorite recipes too! I make it all the time and it is so easy!

  4. Erica permalink
    March 4, 2011 1:02 pm

    Nice work Charlie and Elisabeth!

Leave a Reply

