Skip to content

Has anyone noticed?

February 16, 2011

I just need to say this before anyone else does: my children have been wearing pajamas for weeks.  Every time I post pictures I think, “I hope no one notices they are still wearing pajamas.” On Valentine’s Day I tried to disguise this fact with attractive aprons.  I wish I could say it is because we haven’t left the house, but no, we have been all over Minneapolis. If I had been carrying my camera around you would see my children dancing with scarves to music at the global market in pjs, strolling through the aquarium in pjs, building towers at lego land, and enjoying fine cuisine all over the city… in pajamas.  I remember thinking it was a hoot that my nephews never wore pajamas, just slept in their comfortable clothes.  But, hey, at least they WEAR CLOTHES. Sometimes people say things to try to make me feel better.  This morning at the mall, an employee commented, “Lot’s of elderly people wear pajamas to the mall.”  Thank you.  This just happens to me in February.  I lose my strength a little.  Below, picture from a crafting party I attended last night with near strangers. In my pajamas. To my mama I say, “You better just come on up here. Things are, as my grandmother would say, ‘going to pot.'”

With that out of the way, a word about the blog.  I have been taking a look at other peoples blogs and I have noticed:

1. Recipes.  (more betsy than me.)

2. Meaningful thoughts (beTSY).

3. Crafts (BETSY!!!)

I’m just so proud of my sister and want to share everything she does with everyone.  But, alas, she is too modest to blog.  And I don’t mean modest as in wears pants and only shows a little bit of belly button (see Nudy Patoody post).  For example:

 

 

Just a few of the things she’s made me this year.  She’s positively inspiring!  I may start posting her work without permission.

Another word about the blog.  Who in the world is reading this?  Yesterday it had 90 hits.  I called my mom, no, she hadn’t checked it.  I called my dad, he hadn’t checked it.  I called Kettie.  Yes, she had checked it.  Three times.  What a friend!  That’s still 87 other hits.  Who are you, I ask?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    February 16, 2011 7:31 pm

    ME!!!! I check it several times a day and I see your posts even before they are fully posted sometimes. It seems like you post and then add to it later. And, yes, I had noticed the twins and MP in pajamas but I figured it’s just colder up there and they need the warmth. I hadn’t noticed YOU in pj’s because we don’t often see your picture. I love seeing your picture at the party.

    By all means, post Betsy’s stuff. I want to see it, too.

    Love to all. It’s at least 70 degrees here today. 🙂

    • February 17, 2011 1:06 am

      Yes, you watch the blog being constructed because I can’t figure out how to save a draft.

      • Brenda permalink
        February 17, 2011 11:52 am

        LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. February 16, 2011 8:07 pm

    I’m reading along, too! If you check your stats page you can see if people are googling something and finding you or if someone else linked to you and people are finding you that way.

    (And I LOVE Betsy’s work. Inspiring, indeed. I only wish she lived up here so she could teach me everything she knows!)

    • February 17, 2011 1:06 am

      Haley, yesterday I copied and pasted and requested every book on your “library list” from henn co. If they didn’t have it, I requested they buy it. I’m sure I’m not the only one requesting these so maybe we’ll meet with success.

      • February 17, 2011 7:56 pm

        Oh, great idea! It’s such a shame that more of them aren’t already at the libraries.

        If you ever want to borrow some of the ones on the list, I have most of them and the majority are too advanced for my 22-month-old. I’d love for them to get some use in the meantime! Just let me know.

  3. Cari permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:50 pm

    I love checking your blog. You know I love a good story (and a great storyteller!) As Pete and I say your life is just more interesting than ours. Thanks for sharing it with us!
    Cari

  4. February 16, 2011 10:43 pm

    Well, I’m one of your hits today. After someone told me you found a stick of butter in your purse while at Wheaton and exclaimed “Oh THERE it is!” I knew you were kind of a “closet” funny person. Kettie posted your blog on facebook, so I couldn’t help but read it. Now I’m going to read it all the time! xo, rachael

    • February 17, 2011 1:08 am

      It took me a long time to figure out who Rachael Mitchell is. I thought I had a stranger following! Hi there Rachael Zorn.

      • Brenda permalink
        February 17, 2011 11:54 am

        Tell the story of the butter in your purse. I don’t even know it and I cracked up.

  5. eva permalink
    February 17, 2011 1:24 pm

    ummm, i don’t know if you get a “hit” when i read, because i am following you on google reader. love the blog, you are hilarious and the kiddos are super cute! while we are bringing up wheaton stories, i will never forget how you would make perfect parts in your hair with a pen and then make a perfect french braid. lucy will always equal perfection in my eyes honey child! and pajamas all day are perfection….with nils he is either in jammies all day or clothes all day…..why change a kid unless you have to???

  6. Polly permalink
    February 17, 2011 2:46 pm

    I check it often! One of my favorite things to do with free time at work is to stalk people through their blogs. I’m just glad that some little peppers I know and love have one of their own now! I make Jon watch every video, see every picture, read every story of cute things said, and so on of Wheeler and Tommy Brown…poor thing. So naturally he was thrilled to find out about the three little peppers’ new blog. He’s been known to re-watch the cutest Wheeler videos by himself on his own time, so he just may be the source of some of your other hits…though unlikely to admit it. We loved the pen scribbles story. And you’re right, Betsy has all the makings of a blogger.

  7. Katie Burchfield permalink
    February 19, 2011 2:16 pm

    I’m a faithful reader too! I get them on google reader too, and catch up about once or twice a week. Of all the blogs I read (most of them are people in Haiti), yours is my favorite! I laugh out loud at nearly every one. 🙂 It makes me miss you so! But it feels like you’re so much closer, and I’m SO glad you’re blogging! Love you!

  8. Anna Ostrom permalink
    February 19, 2011 4:49 pm

    we read all the time! well, at least I read and then make Brad listen and look at the pictures. You have a talent for telling stories 🙂 It makes me feel like you are closer. Jane is learning the names and faces of the children. It’s funny i’ve been noticing that in some pictures Elisabeth and Jane seem to favor each other. maybe the blond wavy curls and skinny bodies 🙂 they look like cousins!

  9. Tammia Alexander permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:04 am

    ME!!! I’ve enjoyed reading all your blogs about your little ones.

  10. Christy Donovan permalink
    March 3, 2011 2:07 am

    Me. I read it. I’m Connie’s sister. I’m always so amazed at the things your children are able to do. Like that video where they are having a tea party. Most parents would never allow their 2 year olds to have real liquid in a real glass teapot. So neat!

  11. Melanie Fisher permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:35 am

    Lucy, You make me laugh! You have such a talent for writing. I am an awful writer. I love the fact that you and the kids love your jammies. My kids and I love ours too, and it doesn’t matter what time of year it is. We have always been the ones to stay in our pjs as long as possible. Your kids are gorgeous!!!

  12. Terra permalink
    March 3, 2011 5:13 am

    It’s 11:10 and I’m all caught up with your blog. Now we’ll have something to talk about in 8 hours at breakfast. Phew. The awkward silences were getting to me.
    Two items of suspense after I post this. 1) Will my comment be assigned a plaid square, and if so, which color? I can’t figure out the pattern. 2) Will this be your 2000th hit?

Leave a Reply

