Skip to content

“Hello, Dice? I love you.”

February 10, 2011

I thought the kids might enjoy a few board games, but probably not very much, so I hesitated to make a significant investment, opting instead to stock up with board games from Savers (thrift store).  Enjoy would be an understatement.  I have little gaming fiends.  If you like to play by the rules, I would caution against buying your board games at a thrift store.  If you, however, like an element of suspense, such as a large hole in the “Hi Ho Cherrio” board through which the Cherries may fall at any minute, then proceed with haste to the nearest Savers.  Game time has become an after-naps ritual for the twins.  I thought nothing of it, until I heard myself telling a babysitter that, each day after his nap, Charlie enjoys a cup of tea and a game of Yahtzee.  It does sound a bit odd.  But I am not complaining.  I am grateful that no matter the trouble, a little time rolling his Yahtzee dice cheers Charlie right up.  Today I overheard him talking on an old cell phone:

Charlie: “Hello, Dice? Yes…yes…Okay.  I love you. Bye.” 

Me: “Who were you talking to?”

Charlie: “Just my Yahtzee dice.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. George permalink
    March 18, 2011 4:32 am

    Love this

Leave a Reply

