Skip to content

When A Child Is Ill

January 1, 2011

9. When A Child Is Ill

Great Physician,

When my child is sick, I am reminded that we live in fragile bodies in a fallen world.

You have commanded us to give thanks in all circumstances,

For nothing comes to us unless it is from your hand,

And so I give thanks not for this sickness, but for your sovereignty over it

And for your presence with me as I keep watch over my child.

Your Son showed his mighty power over death and disease

By healing the sick and raising the dead.

I ask that by that same power, you would

Cure my child through medical treatment,

Or heal my child through a miracle.

If this is not your will,

Give us the grace to bear the affliction in faith.

Thank you that one day you will give your children new bodies that will never be sick.

I entrust my child to your care,

pleading that you who fashioned this fragile body would mend it.

Amen.

1 Thess. 5:18; John 9:3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

