Skip to content

Charlie Lately

June 24, 2014

It has been a big month for Charlie.  He lost another tooth and (true to form) swallowed it.  His new teeth are growing in, as pictured in his self portrait below, drawn while looking at his teeth in the mirror:

 

photo (21)

 

He also started school at Hope Academy.  Hope has a four week, half day, summer session.  We thought this would be a nice introduction for the twins before diving into first grade, so off they went.   Charlie has made many new friends.  He knows none of their names.  He refers to them by the shape of their eyebrows.  As in: “You know the guy with the angry eyebrows.”

Or “The one with the eyebrows that go up like this: / \ . “

Or ” I know they are brothers because both their eyebrows do this: ~ ~.

Besides the twins, I think there is one other Caucasian child in the class.  The rest are African American, Bi-Racial, and Latino.  In a group this beautifully diverse, I would think other features, like skin color, hair color, language spoken, or even racial identity would stand out in his mind.  But nope.  It’s all in the eyebrows.

Charlie says his favorite thing to do at school is work on his handwriting.  Last week, he brought home this writing assignment.  I would like to save it, but I will probably lose it, so here it is, (where I can’t lose it):

photo (20)

 

Translationg: I am good at:

Teleeing tiim (Telling Time)

riting (writing)

frend (friend)

monoplee (monopoly)

nis (nice)

Charlie is good at so many things!  And, yes, he is so nice.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig MacIntosh permalink
    June 24, 2014 12:47 pm

    Mister Little Pepper, Yes, you definitely nice. You are a source of delightful expressions, verbal and facial. Oh, that all of us would think of people as “eyebrow” shapes.

  2. Margo lindmark permalink
    June 24, 2014 1:50 pm

    Congratulations to the two almost first graders! Lucy whenever I am down (now with upper-respiratory or whatever) I know I will be up with a little peppers chronolog! Thank you again. Hope to see you all soon but know I’m on my way now!

  3. June 24, 2014 2:33 pm

    I would add that Charlie is good at drawing. That is an awesome drawing of yourself, Charlie.

  4. June 24, 2014 3:17 pm

    My how Charlie has grown — such broad shoulders he has too — too bad you cannot hear the laughing that I am certain is included.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

