Skip to content

Here’s To Turning Two!

June 3, 2014

Annie turned two this week.  We are in Birmingham, and so she spent her special day at Lifetime Fitness where the other three are taking swimming lessons.  At the beginning of the summer last year, Annie really kept me hopping, intent as she was on diving into the nearest pool.  After about a week of chasing her around, I decided there was nothing to be done but to let her go for it.  All it took was one leap into the water (of course I was standing right there and scooped her right out), to discover she liked it not at all.  The rest of the summer she sat quietly by my side eating chips in the shade while the big kids swam.  To my delight, the results seem to have extended to this summer.  We are swimming every day in Birmingham.  The first few days I got Annie all swim-suited and ready to go.  But she has no desire to enter the water, so I quit bringing her swim suit.  Although she now wears her street clothes to the pool, she insists on donning her floaties and goggles before settling in with me to eat chips and watch the swimmers.

If this were my first baby(ies), I would have worried myself to death wondering why my children weren’t frolicking in the pool as children should.  I would have sternly instructed her to get in the water and have fun RIGHT NOW.  But at this point, I’m just enjoying having Annie in the shade while it lasts, knowing she’ll join the pack when she’s ready.

photo (1)

We are in Birmingham and Dan is in Minneapolis.  His presence was sorely missed at the Birthday party.  Thankfully, Betsy painted Annie a set of nesting dolls in the likeness of our family members so we had a little Dan doll to stand in for the real thing:

photo (3)

The children worked so hard on Annie’s  Birthday cards.  There was lots of dashing room to room with markers, lest Annie see what they were working on.  Elizabeth’s card said: “Here’s to Turning Two!” I couldn’t have said it better myself.

photo 1 (1)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie B permalink
    June 3, 2014 2:24 pm

    She is beautiful.

  2. carl olson permalink
    June 4, 2014 2:45 pm

    Happy birthday Annie. No hurry on the swimming.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

