Skip to content

Santa: We Know Him!

December 9, 2013

Charlie passed through the kitchen yesterday muttering under his breath, “We are in preparation for Christmas.”

In preparation for Christmas we made our annual trip to Macy’s to walk through the 8th floor Elf Exhibit and see Santa.  The trip was pretty emotional for Charlie this year.  You see, a few days before departure to see Santa, Charlie announced that he no longer believed.

“Don’t say that too loud,” I joked, “Or he might not bring you any presents.”

Charlie stared at me blankly, then his face crumbled.  He fell to the floor sobbing, “I didn’t know.   Oh, mom, I just didn’t know.”

“I’m just kidding! He can’t really hear you!” I tried to console him.

In spite of my reassurance, Charlie has been pretty nervous about actually seeing the big guy after putting his foot in his mouth like that.  But Charlie was ready with a plan/trick, “I am going to ask him for a motorized nerf gun. If he says, ‘Didn’t I bring you that last year?’ Then I will know that he is real.”

(This is the third year in a row that Charlie has asked for, and received, a motorized Nerf gun.  Why deviate from such a winning request?)

When we finally got to the front of the line and were ushered into the Santa room, “Santa threw out his arms with a big ‘Ho Ho Ho, Charlie, where’s that Nerf gun I brought you last year. And I am hoping to make it to your Christmas party again!”

Here they are with Santa at Macy’s:

santa 001-001

He was a great Santa, and he did his best.  But it’s still a little stiff seeing Santa at a department store.  As you can see, the smiles look a little forced.  It’s not like seeing Santa in the comfort of your own home.  At Macy’s you can’t really visit with him, knowing all those other kids are waiting for their turn.

It was much better to have him to ourselves last night at our neighborhood Christmas carol sing.  Many thanks to our neighbor, Bill, who I have still never seen except in character at the Christmas party.  Although, I guess I don’t know if I have seen him or not, since I have no idea what he looks like under that beard.

The children were watching out the window for him.  Elizabeth reminded us not to get our hopes up.  “He said he would try to come.  But it’s his decision.”

When he arrived, she threw her arms around her old friend, Santa.  It was so good to just kick back and relax with him for as long as you want, just talking about whatever comes to mind.

santa2 003

When he was about ready to go, I went to alert the other children.  Miss P came wailing through the house, “I didn’t get to visit with hiiiiim…”  So back into the recliner went Santa for a nice quiet sit with Miss P, who couldn’t really think of anything to say, but wanted to make sure she got her fair share of Santa time.

And then he disappeared into the snow.  Until next year…

santa2 013

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grammie permalink
    December 9, 2013 10:34 am

    Such a beautiful picture of Santa at your house. Well, they are all beautiful pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

